Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content


The Australian Curriculum was introduced in all Queensland schools in 2012. The curriculum was created by The Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA).

This is an exciting time because an Australian Curriculum gives teachers and students more consistent standards in all schools nationwide, as well as an updated, contemporary 21st century curriculum.

The Australian Curriculum sets out the core knowledge, understanding, skills and general capabilities important for all students. It identifies what all young people should learn as they progress through school.

Core Learning

The Australian Curriculum includes English, Maths, Science, Geography and History. Beachmere State School also offers The Arts, Health & Physical Education, Music, Studies of Society and Environment, and Technology.


General Capabilities

Within all subjects, there is a focus on developing seven General Capabilities:

  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • ICT capability
  • Critical and creative thinking
  • Personal and social capability
  • Ethical behaviour
  • Intercultural understanding


Cross-Curriculum Priorities

Incorporated within each of the four core subjects are three priorities:

  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures
  • Asia and Australia’s engagement with Asia
  • Sustainability

Get Involved

Students are more likely to be successful when their parents and families are involved in their education. For more information about what is taught at each year level, visit Below is a summary of what is taught.


English covers three strands:

  • Language
  • Literature
  • Literacy

English is presented and assessed in five Language Modes:

  • Listening
  • Speaking
  • Reading
  • Viewing
  • Writing


Mathematics addresses three strands:

  • Number & Algebra
  • Measurement & Geometry
  • Statistics & Probability

 Mathematics is presented and assessed in four Proficiency Strands:

  • Understanding
  • Fluency
  • Problem-solving
  • Reasoning


Science covers three strands:

  • Science Understanding
  • Science as a Human Endeavour
  • Science Inquiry Skills

Science is presented and assessed through six Overarching Ideas:

  • Patterns, Order and Organisation
  • Form and Function
  • Stability and Change
  • Scale and Measurement
  • Matter and Energy
  • Systems
  • Years Prep-2 Science Focus: Awareness of self and the local world
  • Years 3-6 Science Focus: Recognising questions that can be investigated scientifically and investigating them.


History covers two strands:

  • Historical knowledge and understanding
  • Historical Skills
  • Years Prep-2 History Focus: Awareness of family history and community heritage
  • Years 3-6 History Focus: Local/national history and use of a range of sources      

More Information for Parents

Helpful tips and resources for parents and carers can be found at